It’s an opportunity to minister

Saturday, December 16, 2006

I can’t believe I get to do thisI was driving out to a wedding rehearsal yesterday and I had one of those I can’t believe I get to do this moments.I don’t do as many weddings as I used to. Our point pastors do more weddings now than I do. But it is such a privilege being part of such a huge day in people’s lives!

One of the subtle dangers we face is slippery slope from get to to have to. I never want to view any of my pastoral responsibilities as obligations. I want to see them for what they are–opportunities. When opportunities seem like obligations we need a gut check! I never want to have a sense of entitlement. I’m continually reminding myself and reminding our team what an amazing privilege it is to be part of what God is doing on planet earth!

In one of my interviews yesterday, someone asked me what I enjoy most about pastoring NCC. It caught me a little off guard. And it was hard for me to answer the question because I enjoy so much about it.I certainly have bad days. The stress is pretty intense sometimes. And I’m not good at everything pastors do. My counseling requires additional counseling :)But I love who I pastor. I love where I pastor. And I love what I do.I can’t believe I get to do this!

posted by Mark Batterson @ 7:39 AM

Evotional.com – Originality, Authenticity, Creativity

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

