Getting what we ask for in prayer

Q. Do you believe that the Bible preaches prosperity, what you say is what you get, claiming your inheritance, etc? I have a friend who goes to a Pentecostal church. He’s told me if I need anything, just ask God. But he also believes you have to speak it. Does this jive with your interpretation of the Bible? BTW, he also believes we have the inheritance of Abraham. Is this biblical?

A. I believe that the Bible teaches us to have faith that God will meet all of our needs (Matt. 25:25-34 & Phil. 4:19) It also says that if we delight ourselves in Him He’ll give us the desire of our hearts. (Psalm 37:4)

But I don’t think that this necessarily means that He’ll immediately grant all our wildest wishes, like some Genie from a bottle. After all He’s the One Who judges our motives and knows the intentions of our hearts. Do we really need Rolex watches and Rolls Royces? (I suspect that some of the TV preachers who flash those things in our faces will be dropping them off at the Gates of Hell.)

Nevertheless, when I need something I always ask Him first, and I’m very satisfied with the rate of response. Different groups promote different formulas for getting God to perform for them, but He and I have a good enough relationship that I don’t feel the need to use any of them. I just ask and let Him decide.

As far as the Inheritance of Abraham, Galatians 3:29 says, “If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.” It applies to Jew and Gentile alike, who’ve given their hearts to Jesus.

– Prosperity Gospel

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

